Manchester Orchestra Announce New Album and Reveal New Song

A Black Mile to the Surface will be Manchester Orchestra's latest album and will release on July 18th.


Coming off the back of their score for indie hit Swiss Army Man, Manchester Orchestra have announced a new album due for release in July.

The Atlanta-based alt-rock outfit will release A Black Mile to the Surface on July 28th through Loma Vista Recordings.

Featuring production from Catherine Marks, John Congleton, and long-time collaborator Dan Hannon, A Black Mile to the Surface will tone down the heaviness and be a more relaxed, thoughtful affair, much like frontman Andy Hull’s solo project, Right Away, Great Captain!

Speaking about the album, Hull said the following:


“We’re a band that loves to use heavy, crunchy guitars. We wondered how we could limit the use of that, so that when the guitars come in they can be creative and impactful. For Swiss Army Man we had to make seventy minutes of music with our hands tied behind our backs. When you’re creating all the sounds you need just from the human voice, it allows you to rethink what is possible, and determine what is really needed. We wanted to make an album in a ‘non-Manchester’ way if there is such a thing.”

Here’s the tracklisting:


1. The Maze
2. The Gold
3. The Moth
4. Lead, SD
5. The Alien
6. The Sunshine
7. The Grocery
8. The Wolf
9. The Mistake
10. The Parts
11. The Silence

The Gold is the lead single off the album, which you can listen to below.

The album will be available for pre-order here.


Get paid.