Which Wrestler Has The Most WWE Championship Reigns?

Doo, doo doo, WOOOOO!

John Cena
John Cena

The WWE Championship is regarded as the highest achievement in all of professional wrestling, having gone through various iterations since its inception in 1963 in the WWWF (World Wide Wrestling Federation) and been held by titans of the industry.

Every wrestler, whether contracted to WWE or otherwise, dreams of one day standing on top of the mountain at WrestleMania, holding up the richest prize in the world, the WWE Championship. But who goes down in history as being the one to have the most WWE Championship reigns? Well it’s actually a title shared by two of wrestling’s absolute greats: John Cena and Ric Flair.

Admittedly, the latter of the two is a bit of a cheat, as ‘The Nature Boy’ held the majority of his 16 major championships in WCW and NWA, two promotions not originally affiliated with WWE. However, when WWE bought the rights to the WCW World Heavyweight Championship, this included Flair’s longstanding record.

It wasn’t until 2017 that Flair was matched by now-Hollywood sensation, John Cena. Much to the fanbase’s chagrin, Cena was the poster boy of WWE for well over a decade, often found headlining pay-per-view events as the WWE Champion. Cena had won the coveted title a total of 15 times before finally matching Flair’s 16 reigns after defeating AJ Styles at the Royal Rumble.

It seems unlikely that either man will top the other’s record anytime soon, but with other superstars like Randy Orton and Triple H in contention with an impressive 14 reigns a piece, there’s still all to play for.

READ NEXT:  What Is An Exploding Barbed Wire Death Match?

Some of the coverage you find on Cultured Vultures contains affiliate links, which provide us with small commissions based on purchases made from visiting our site. We cover gaming news, movie reviews, wrestling and much more.