Men’s Royal Rumble Winners: The Full List

A quick rundown on the Men's Royal Rumble winners to date.

royal rumble
Source: WWE

The WWE Royal Rumble is one of the best wrestling events of the year: some may argue that the surprises make it more fun than WrestleMania itself. While the allure of the event may now be diminished slightly thanks to the Greatest Royal Rumble (which was actually anything but), the Royal Rumble winners still get a chance on the Grandest Stage of Them All. Whoever wins gets a shot at a title of their choosing at WrestleMania.

The Royal Rumble event pits thirty wrestlers against each other with two starting the match in the first and second spots — every few minutes, a new wrestler makes their entrance. To win, you must be the last man standing after twenty-nine other wrestlers have been eliminated with both feet touching the floor after going over the top rope. There’s always shenanigans, which is part of what makes the Royal Rumble so damn fun to watch each year.

Here are the men’s Royal Rumble winners in chronological order.


WWE Men’s Royal Rumble Winners (1988-2021)

Drew McIntyre
Drew McIntyre

2021 – Edge
2020 – Drew McIntyre
2019 – Seth Rollins
2018 – Shinsuke Nakamura
2017 – Randy Orton
2016 – Triple H
2015 – Roman Reigns
2014 – Batista
2013 – John Cena
2012 – Sheamus
2011 – Alberto Del Rio
2010 – Edge
2009 – Randy Orton
2008 – John Cena
2007 – The Undertaker
2006 – Rey Mysterio
2005 – Batista
2004 – Eddie Guerrero(SmackDown)/Chris Benoit
2003 – Brock Lesnar
2002 – Triple H
2001 – Stone Cold Steve Austin
2000 – The Rock
1999 – Mr. McMahon
1998 – Stone Cold Steve Austin
1997 – Stone Cold Steve Austin
1996 – Shawn Michaels
1995 – Shawn Michaels
1994 – Lex Luger/Bret Hart (co-winners)
1993 – Yokozuna
1992 – Ric Flair
1991 – Hulk Hogan
1990 – Hulk Hogan
1989 – Big John Studd
1988 – Jim Duggan


Men’s Royal Rumble Records

Stone Cold
Stone Cold

Most Royal Rumble Wins
Stone Cold Steve Austin (3), Shawn Michaels & Triple H & Hulk Hogan & John Cena & Randy Orton (2)

Most Royal Rumble Eliminations In A Single Match
Roman Reigns (2014, 12)

Most Cumulative Royal Rumble Eliminations
Kane (45)

Longest Time In The Royal Rumble
Rey Mysterio (2006, 62:12)

Shortest Time In The Royal Rumble
Santino Marella (2009, 0:01.9)

Do you think anybody will ever be able to beat Stone Cold’s win counts at the Royal Rumble, or even last as long as Rey Mysterio? Watch this space.

READ NEXT: 5 Best Royal Rumble Winners Of All Time

Some of the coverage you find on Cultured Vultures contains affiliate links, which provide us with small commissions based on purchases made from visiting our site. We cover gaming news, movie reviews, wrestling and much more.