Wrestling News: NJPW Announces Best Of The Super Juniors 2017 Competitors

Who is in this year's tournament? Here's hoping for plenty of flippy stuff.


New Japan have announced the wrestlers that will be taking part in this year’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament and it’s a high quality collection of talent. The tournament will take place between May 17th and June 3rd and consists of a round robin format in which every wrestler faces every other wrestler in their block with the highest placed wrestler in each block facing off in the final.

Here are the competitors:

Block A

Jushin ‘Thunder’ Liger



Dragon Lee

Will Ospreay

Marty Scurll


TAKA Michinoku

Hiromu Takahashi

Block B

Tiger Mask

Ryusuke Taguchi


Volador Jr


Yoshinobu Kanemura

El Desperado


Block A is ridiculously stacked. Takahashi, Ricochet, Ospreay, Lee and Scurll are all right at the top of their game right now and Liger has announced that this will be his last ever BOSJ appearance, so I would expect him to give it everything he has. Block A is going to produce some fantastic matches.

Block B doesn’t have quite as much star power as Block A, but it does feature some excellent wrestlers. KUSHIDA, Volador Jr, ACH and Bushi should all put on great matches against each other and may well produce gold against the others competitors.

Whoever wins this tournament it should be a spectacular ride.