New Kendrick Lamar Project ‘untitled unmastered.’ Appears Online

After releasing the album of the year last year, you’d think you might wanna take the next year off. After releasing an album that many people greeted instantly as a classic, you’d think you might wanna take an extended break. After releasing an album that saw you being revered as perhaps the most important rapper of your generation and the album itself as not just currently significant, but definitive beyond that full stop, you’d think you might wanna kick back and soak it in indefinitely.

Not Kendrick Lamar.

Having released what it probably isn’t a stretch to surmise as somewhat of a modern masterpiece in To Pimp a Butterfly last year, it seems like K.Dot is already gearing up to follow it up. Which, hyperbole aside, is pretty fucking exciting. I mean, it’s not like he’s been taking it easy since dropping Butterfly and gone off radar, what with numerous killer features, live dates, and that powerful performance at the Grammys, but to be already able to look forward to new material is pretty fucking exciting.

It follows on from Anthony ‘Top Dawg’ Tiffith, the CEO of Kendrick’s label Top Dawg Entertainment, announcing that he planned to drop something new from one of his artists this week. It’s pretty safe to say that no one expected it to be anything from Kendrick, but lo and behold, there it appeared on Spotify unavailable to listen to, but very much there, untitled unmastered. by Kendrick Lamar.

There’s no real details available for it yet, aside from what’s there to see on Spotify; a title, cover art, and 8 tracks all named simply as dates (likely when they were recorded). Is it an album? Unlikely. Mixtape? Maybe. EP? Probably. Whichever it is doesn’t really matter, because regardless of which it is, it is – I reiterate – pretty fucking exciting.

Check out the tracklist and artwork below.

untitled unmastered.:

01 untitled 01 08.19.2014
02 untitled 02 06.23.2014
03 untitled 03 05.28.2013
04 untitled 04 08.14.2014
05 untitled 05 09.21.2014
06 untitled 06 06.30.2014
07 untitled 07 2014 – 2016
08 untitled 08 09.06.2014

kendrick lamar untitled unmastered
Image source:

UPDATE: the album has now been released.

Some of the coverage you find on Cultured Vultures contains affiliate links, which provide us with small commissions based on purchases made from visiting our site. We cover gaming news, movie reviews, wrestling and much more.