Sometimes we just all want a fresh start. Whether that’s a new job, new place to live, or to basically scrub your PC gaming history from existence by deleting your Steam account. If that latter one is you, we have the guide just for you.
Before proceeding, make sure you understand that you will lose access to all games, purchases, and account information associated with the Steam account after the 30-day grace period is over. Deleting a Steam account is a permanent action, and it cannot be undone. The only thing you can do is change your mind within the 30-day grace period Steam gives you, which gives you a big red cancel option on the Steam client.
If you’re certain you want to proceed and basically want to lose everything all at once, here’s how you can delete your Steam account:
Backup Important Data:
If you have any game data or files you want to keep, make sure to back them up. Deleting your Steam account will result in the loss of all associated data.
Contact Steam Support:
Log in with the Steam account you want to delete.
Select your name in the top right of the Steam client and then select Account Details.
Scroll to the bottom and select “Delete my Steam account”.
Describe that you want to delete your Steam account and provide any necessary information they may require.
Follow Steam Support Instructions:
Steam Support will likely guide you through a verification process to confirm that you are the account owner; they will ask for stuff like original email addresses and phone numbers.
They may provide specific instructions or requests to complete the account deletion process.
Wait for Confirmation:
After submitting your request, you will need to wait for Steam Support to review and process it.
Verify Account Deletion:
Log in to the email account associated with your Steam account and look for a confirmation email from Steam Support.
Follow any instructions provided in the email to verify the account deletion.
You will have 30 days from the point of request in which to change your mind. You will not be able to make purchases or play on VAC servers in this time.
You will receive an email notification once the 30 days is up, then your account will be deleted.
Need more info? Be sure to watch this video tutorial below:
Remember that account deletion is irreversible, and you will lose access to all your purchased games, in-game items, and any other content associated with the account. However, if you have an online account with a specific game (like Apex Legends, for instance), that information won’t be deleted as it’s hosted elsewhere. You are able to refund games, but only those that fall under the usual refund parameters.
If you have any concerns or questions, it’s a good idea to contact Steam Support for clarification before initiating the deletion process. Remember: this is a pretty big deal, so only do it if you’re certain beyond certain that deleting your Steam account is the thing you need to do.
Some of the coverage you find on Cultured Vultures contains affiliate links, which provide us with small commissions based on purchases made from visiting our site. We cover gaming news, movie reviews, wrestling and much more.
Gamezeen is a Zeen theme demo site. Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.